Movin On Up!!

I used to be afraid of “CHAKRAS”, I was always taught they were an evil concept, part of a new age religion that was demonic, I know right!

Well, guess what I found while looking at the chakras, their meanings and doing ‘chakra work’? I found that its not evil or demonic, in fact, the whole concept can be seen in other places like the Enneagram, Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, the Myers–Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), and even in some religious writings like The Seven Powers of wrath, The Gospel of Mary Magdalene, The Seven Inner Mansions of St. Theresa of Avila, the bible, they are all tools to help us navigate the darkness within, but I had always been taught that evil was external, outside demons that have to be exercised, making the darkness/shadow an external enemy. In my personal journey through dissociation and detachment this external focus made things worse because I was looking for outside deliverance. One day I started to notice patterns and cycles that followed being triggered and detaching/depersonalizing. When I started seeing these things, I had a choice to stay stuck or do the hard ass work to change. It’s not easy to choose to grow, but how can you follow the ‘primordial spiral upward’ if your stuck in the same cycle over and over again?

Following Maslow’s thought, you have to satisfy the unmet needs in order to move up, but you first have to recognize both your needs and what’s holding you back. Looking for an outward foe keeps us from seeing whats within. Its not a sin nature that has to be purged or pure to keep the demons away, its light and dark within. Its the past neglect, the abuse, and the trauma that haven’t been felt and dealt with, its the lies that we’ve believed about who we are and who we’re supposed to be, the fear, shame, and guilt that we hold inside.

Evil will always look like good, Unless you tame your demons you will never know your angels” Richard Rohr “If my devils are to leave me, I am afraid my angels will take flight as well.” Rainer Maria Rilke “I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free” Michelangelo

St Theresa of Avila “I began to think of the soul as if it were a castle made of a single diamond” “7 mansions with many rooms God dwells in the innermost mansion.” “All harm comes to us from failing to realize that God is near” “The soul can journey within these mansion to unite itself to God, so as to plant itself, like a tree, in the ‘living waters of life” “the sinner is actually one who doesn’t love themselves enough” 
The journey is the souls essential mission


In The Gospel of Mary Magadlene, she talks about 7 levels that must be overcome: 19) The first form is darkness, the second desire, the third ignorance, the fourth is the excitement of death, the fifth is the kingdom of the flesh, the sixth is the foolish wisdom of flesh, the seventh is the wrathful wisdom. These are the seven [powers] of wrath.


Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs starts with the basic needs to survive, and when needs from any level are not met, they hold us back. Recognizing where you are stuck and working through it is how we grow and change.


Development of the skills and concepts related to each chakra occurs progressively throughout life, in developmental stages just like the hierarchy of needs.

Chakra One: The right to be here and have what we need
Chakra Two: The right to feel
Chakra Three: The right to act, restricted by abusive authority
Chakra Four: The right to love and be loved
Chakra Five: The right to speak and hear truth
Chakra Six: The right to see
Chakra Seven: The right to know

Kerri Butler-Eccentric Creations


We have so many tools available to us for the journey of going to the dark hard places within. Working through blockages in the chakra system, working through the 7 inner mansions and the 7 levels of wrath, or finding what you missed through the Hierarchy of needs and then there is THE ENNEAGRAM
en·ne·a·gram /ˈenēəˌɡram/ – a nine-sided figure used in a particular system of analysis to represent the spectrum of possible personality types.

The enneagram types personalities based on how your basic needs were met as children, and is extraordinarily correct. Using this tool can help us SEE our patterns or cycles. “The Enneagram is full of wisdom for people who want to get out of their own way and become who they were created to be.” Ian Cron 

So, the journey continues, I can’t wait, won’t you join me? There are several options for taking an initial enneagram test, this is a fast one.